Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts

The Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts were created in 1999 by the Canada Council for the Arts and the Governor General of Canada. The awards celebrate Canada’s vibrant arts community and recognize remarkable careers in the visual and media arts.

Artistic achievements and outstanding contribution

Each year, the awards honour up to 7 artists for their artistic achievements, and 1 person for his or her outstanding contribution to contemporary visual and/or media arts. The award winners receive a medallion and a cash prize of $25,000 each.

2013 winners

This year's winner, announced on February 12, are:

Marcel Barbeau
Painter and sculptor

Rebecca Belmore
Visual artist

William D. MacGillivray
Filmmaker and director 

Gordon Monahan
Sound artist, composer and media artist

Greg Payce
Artist-potter / Saidye Bronfman Award

Chantal Pontbriand
Curator and art critic / Outstanding contribution

Colette Whiten
Sculpture installation artist 

The Governor General of Canada will present the 2013 Awards at a ceremony at Rideau Hall on Wednesday, March 20 at 6 p.m. 

The Canada Council funds and administers the awards and promotes them in collaboration with its partners: The Samuel and Saidye Bronfman Family Foundation, the National Gallery of Canada, the Canadian Museum of Civilizationthe Royal Canadian Mint and the Independent Media Arts AllianceRead about the videos.

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy