Winners Announced for Richmond’s Fifth Annual Arts Awards

The six winners of the annual Richmond Arts Awards were announced at a ceremony last night (May 8) at Richmond City Hall Council Chambers.

Established to recognize the achievements and contributions to the arts by Richmond residents, artists, educators, organizers and business leaders, the Richmond Arts Awards are presented by Canadian Western Bank. They are administered by the City of Richmond, in partnership with the Richmond Arts Coalition, and are sponsored by Tempest Development Group, the Richmond News and Peller Estates Wines.

The 2013 award recipients are:

  • BC Children’s Art and Literacy Society for the Arts Education Award, which recognizes an individual or organization whose achievements and contributions to arts education have been significant and far reaching.
  • Jeanette G. Lee for the Artistic Innovation Award, which recognizes an individual artist or organization producing visionary, creative work, exhibiting innovation within in their arts discipline or bringing a new cultural experience to the city of Richmond.
  • RBC Royal Bank received the Business and Arts Award. This award recognizes a business that has made a significant contribution to the arts in Richmond by supporting a Richmond-based artist or arts organization through sponsorship, philanthropic and/or volunteer service.
  • Nes and Tonette Gatus received the Volunteerism Award, which recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the arts in Richmond by supporting a Richmond-based artist or arts organization through volunteer service.
  • Shirley Liu was recognized for the Youth Arts Award, honoring Richmond’s young artists, musicians and cultural contributors.
  • The Cultural Leadership Award, which recognizes an arts professional or organization as a leader in their arts discipline, as well as their organization stewardship and their contribution to Richmond’s cultural development, was awarded to Gateway Theatre.

In its fourth year, 94 nominations from the public were reviewed for consideration for the awards. This year’s selection panel includes last year’s winner for Volunteerism, board member of Richmond Arts Coalition and chair of the City of Richmond Public Art Commission, Willa Walsh; executive and artistic director of last year’s winner for Artistic Innovation, Cinevolution Media Arts Society, Ying Wan; Lansdowne Centre marketing manager, Bronwyn Bailey; and former artistic director of the Gateway Theatre and 2011 winner for Cultural Leadership, Simon Johnston.


©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy