10th Annual Audain Prize & VIVA Awards Winners Announced

This year's 10th annual Audain Prize for Lifetime Achievement in the Visual Arts will go to two recipients rather than one: BC artists Gathie Falk and Takao Tanabe. 

Falk works in ceramics, painting, and sculpture, using themes and objects from everyday life. She is a recipient of the Order of Canada, the Order of British Columbia, and the Governor General’s Award in Visual Arts.

Tanabe is a landscape painter and has also been a recipient of all three of those distinctions. He was born in BC and trained in Europe, the US, and Japan. 

Past recipients of the $30,000 prize, granted to a senior artist by the Audain Foundation, include Jeff Wall, Rodney Graham, E.J. Hughes, Liz Magor, and Marian Penner Bancroft.

Elizabeth McIntosh, abstract painter and instructor at Emily Carr University of Art + Design, is the recipient of the 2013 VIVA Award presented by the Jack and Doris Shadbolt Foundation. The $12,000 award recognizes BC artists who demonstrate exceptional creative ability and commitment.

The Audain Prize for Lifetime Achievement in the Visual Arts and the VIVA Award will be awarded in a ceremony on April 4 in the Great Hall of the BC Law Courts Building, along with the inaugural Alvin Balkind Curator’s Prize, presented to Helga Pakasaar and Presentation House Gallery.


Photo credit: Lili Vieira de Carvalho (http://www.theartmonitor.com/)

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy