2013 BC Book Prizes Finalists Announced

The West Coast Book Prize Society announced on March 14 the names of the finalists vying for recognition in seven categories at the 29th Annual BC Book Prizes.

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize awarded to the author of the best work of fiction:
Supported by Friesens and Webcom

  • C.P. Boyko, Psychology and Other Stories (Biblioasis)
  • Anne Fleming, Gay Dwarves of America (Pedlar Press)
  • Bill Gaston, The World (Hamish Hamilton Canada, Penguin Group Canada)
  • Anakana Schofield, Malarky (Biblioasis)
  • Yasuko Thanh, Floating Like the Dead (McClelland & Stewart Ltd.) 

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize to recognize the author(s) of the book that contributes most to the enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia:
Supported by Transcontinental Printing

  • Aaron Chapman, Liquor, Lust and the Law: The Story of Vancouver's Legendary Penthouse Nightclub (Arsenal Pulp Press)
  • Jackson Davies and Marc Strange, Bruno and the Beach: The Beachcombers at 40 (Harbour Publishing)
  • Derek Hayes, British Columbia: A New Historical Atlas (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Ali Kazimi, Undesirables: White Canada and the Komagata Maru – An Illustrated History (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Leslie A. Robertson and Kwagu’l Gixsam Clan, Standing Up with Ga’axsta’las: Jane Constance Cook and the Politics of Memory, Church, and Custom (The University of British Columbia Press)

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize awarded to the author of the best original non-fiction literary work:
Supported by AbeBooks 

  • Luanne Armstrong, The Light through the Trees: Reflections on Land and Farming (Caitlin Press)
  • George Bowering, Pinboy (Cormorant Books)
  • Sandra Djwa, Journey with No Maps: A Life of P.K. Page (McGill-Queen’s University Press)
  • Geoff Meggs and Rod Mickleburgh, The Art of the Impossible: Dave Barrett and the NDP in Power, 1972-1975 (Harbour Publishing)
  • Carol Shaben, Into the Abyss: How a Deadly Plane Crash Changed the Lives of a Pilot, a Politician, a Criminal and a Cop (Random House Canada)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize awarded to the author of the best work of poetry:
Supported by the BC Teachers’ Federation

  • Colin Browne, The Properties (Talonbooks)
  • Sarah de Leeuw, Geographies of a Lover (NeWest Press)
  • Roger Farr, IKMQ (New Star Books)
  • Evelyn Lau, A Grain of Rice (Oolichan Books)
  • Patricia Young, Night-Eater (Quattro Books) 

Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize presented to the best illustrated book written for children:
Supported by Ampersand Inc. and Kate Walker

  • Hey Canada! by Vivien Bowers, illustrated by Milan Pavlovic (Tundra Books)
  • Rainbow Shoes by Tiffany Stone, illustrated by Stefan Czernecki (Tradewind Books)
  • Gift Days by Kari-Lynn Winters, illustrated by Stephen Taylor (Fitzhenry & Whiteside)
  • What’s Up, Bear?: A Book About Opposites by Frieda Wishinsky, illustrated by Sean L. Moore (Owlkids Books)
  • Maggie’s Chopsticks by Alan Woo, illustrated by Isabelle Malenfant (Kids Can Press) 

Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize awarded to the best non-illustrated book written for children: Supported by the BC Library Association 

  • Caroline Adderson, Middle of Nowhere (Groundwood Books)
  • Rachel Hartman, Seraphina (Doubleday Canada)
  • John Lekich, The Prisoner of Snowflake Falls (Orca Book Publishers)
  • Victoria Miles, Mimi Power and the I-Don’t-Know-What (Tradewind Books)
  • Susin Nielsen, The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen (Tundra Books)

Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award presented to the originating publisher and author(s) of the best book in terms of public appeal, initiative, design, production and content:
Supported by the BC Booksellers Association

  • Jackson Davies and Marc Strange, Bruno and the Beach: The Beachcombers at 40 (Harbour Publishing)
  • Shelley Fralic, Making Headlines: 100 Years of The Vancouver Sun (The Vancouver Sun)
  • Daniel Francis, Trucking in British Columbia: An Illustrated History (Harbour Publishing)
  • Derek Hayes, British Columbia: A New Historical Atlas (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Harold Kalman and Robin Ward, Exploring Vancouver: The Architectural Guide (Douglas & McIntyre)

These nominees — who collectively will receive $14,000 in cash prizes — will be celebrated at a free event, the BC Book Prizes Soirée in Vancouver (venue and date TBA in the coming weeks).

At the Soirée, the recipient of the 2013 Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence will be announced. This award was established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo to recognize British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the province. In 2012, the eighth annual award was presented to Brian Brett. 

The winners in the seven categories listed above will be announced at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala on Saturday, May 4, 2013 at Government House, in Victoria. British Columbia’s Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable Judith Guichon, OBC, will be in attendance.

A selection of the shortlisted authors (to be announced in the coming weeks) will be part of BC Book Prizes On Tour presented by Rio Tinto Alcan. This author reading tour will take finalists to schools, bookstores, and public libraries in many communities throughout BC April 17 – May 3, 2013. 


©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy