2013 Scotiabank Giller Prize Shortlist

The 2013 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury announced its shortlist this morning (October 8) at a press event in downtown Toronto.

The five finalists were chosen by the award-winning, three-member jury: Canadian writers Margaret Atwood and Esi Edugyan; and American author Jonathan Lethem.

This is the 20th year of the prize.

The shortlist was selected from a longlist of 13 books. 147 titles were submitted by 61 publishing houses from across the country.

The finalists are:

  • Dennis Bock for his novel Going Home Again, a Phyllis Bruce Book published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.

  • Lynn Coady for her short story collection Hellgoing, published by House of Anansi Press.

  • Craig Davidson for his novel Cataract City, published by Doubleday Canada, a division of Random House of Canada Limited.

  • Lisa Moore for her novel Caught, published by House of Anansi Press.

  • Dan Vyleta for his novel The Crooked Maid, published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.

The winner will be announced at a gala ceremony to honour the finalists on Tuesday, November 5 during a live broadcast on CBC Television, hosted by Jian Ghomeshi.

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy