Governor General's Literary Awards Winners Announced



The winners of the 80th Governor General's Literary Awards were announced October 25. Each winner was selected by a committee of peers and awarded a $25,000 prize. 

The English-language winners of this year's awards are:

  • Fiction: Do Not Say We Have Nothing, Madeleine Thien
  • Poetry: The Waking Comes Late, Steven Heighton
  • Drama: Pig Girl, Colleen Murphy
  • Nonfiction: A World We Have Lost: Saskatchewan Before 1905, Bill Waiser
  • Young People's Literature - Text: Calvin, Martine Leavitt
  • Young People's Literature - Illustrated Books: Tokyo Digs a Garden, Jon-Erik Lappano and Kellen Hatanaka
  • Translation: The Party Wall, translated by Lazer Lederhendler, written by Catherine Leroux

The French-language winners of this year's awards are:

  • Fiction: Au péril de la mer, Dominique Fortier
  • Poetry: Le poème est une maison de bord de mer, Normand de Bellefeuille
  • Drama: Inflammation du verbe vivre, Wajdi Mouawad
  • Nonfiction: Amerindia : essais d'ethnohistoire autochtone, Roland Viau
  • Young People's Literature - Text: Hare Krishna, François Gilbert
  • Young People's Literature - Illustrated Books: Grand-père et la Lune, Stéphanie Lapointe and Rogé
  • Translation: La destruction des Indiens des Plaines : maladies, famines organisées, disparition du mode de vie autochtone, translated by Catherine Ego, written by James Daschuk

The awards will be presented by Gov. Gen. David Johnston at Rideau Hall in Ottawa on Nov. 30.

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy