Five Directors Shortlisted for 2016 Siminovitch Prize

Five directors are in the running for the $100,000 Siminovitch Prize, which recognizes exceptional theatre artists and also encourages emerging talent by highlighting the importance of mentorship. Rotating over a three-year cycle, Canada's largest theatre prize honours professional directors, playwrights and designers. Recipients also choose a protégé to whom they award $25,000 of the total prize money.

The shortlist includes Edmonton-based artist Jonathan Christenson, Toronto's Ravi Jain, Quebec City's Christian Lapointe, Toronto-based artist Ross Manson, and Nadia Ross of Wakefield, QC. 

The 2016 jury is comprised of chair Bob White, Micheline Chevrier, Linda Gaboriau, Mieko Ouchi and Sarah Garton Stanley.

The 2016 Siminovitch Prize will be awarded at a ceremony taking place on Friday, October 28, 2016 in the Studio of the National Arts Centre, hosted by Daniel MacIvor and Geneviève Leclerc.

The Prize was launched in 2000 to honour the values and achievements of the renowned scientist Lou Siminovitch and his late wife Elinore Siminovitch, a pioneering playwright. The 2015 Prize was awarded to designer Anick La Bissonnière and protégé Marilène Bastien. In 2016, the Siminovitch Prize also celebrates its 16-year partnership with the University of Toronto.

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy