John Wardlow and Joy Coghill to Be Honoured at 5th Annual UBCP/ACTRA Awards Gala



The 5th annual UBCP/ACTRA awards gala will honour two of Canada's top talent with distinguished lifetime achievement awards. John Wardlow will be presented with the John Juliani Award of Excellence, and Joy Coghill will receive the Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award, at the awards gala on November 12 at the Vancouver Playhouse.

The John Juliani Award of Excellence is presented each year to a performer for achievement as a performing artist and distinguished contribution to the film and television industry. The Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award is presented to a UBCP/ACTRA member whose work as a performer and/or beyond, embodies the type of accomplishments that advance the status of women in our society and encourage the continued growth and diversification of opportunities for women. Both John Wardlow and Joy Coghill will be present at the UBCP/ACTRA awards to receive this top honour.

"We are pleased to honour such illustrious and accomplished people as John Wardlow and Joy Coghill at this year's annual awards gala," said Alvin Sanders, President of UBCP/ACTRA. "They each have a rich and diverse history that has helped to shape our industry into the vibrant and vital one it is today."

John Wardlow co-founded Stunts Canada and was among the first stunt performers in Canada. He has also worked as an assistant director, location manager and unit/production manager for feature films, TV movies, series and commercials. Joy Coghill was the first female Artistic Director of the Playhouse and, among other honours, is a Member of the Order of Canada and the recipient of a Canadian Governor General's Performing Arts Award.

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy