Nominations Open For 2016 Okanagan Arts Awards


Members of the public are invited to nominate an artist or arts supporter for the 9th annual Okanagan Arts Awards, celebrating the creative excellence and achievements of artists and arts supporters in the Central Okanagan region. 

The Awards, created by the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan, are presented in the following categories:

Artistic excellence in: 

  • Visual Arts
  • Dance
  • Music
  • Theatre
  • Literature
  • Applied Art
  • Time-based Media

And in five new categories this year:

  • Emerging Artist
  • Innovation in the Arts 
  • Art & Business 
  • Community Impact 
  • Business Supporter

The Awards are juried by a committee of previous winners, artistic peers and prominent community members of the Central Okanagan.

Up until the 2015 Okanagan Arts Awards, the coverage area of the Okanagan Arts Awards included residents in the Okanagan, Nicola, Thompson and Revelstoke areas. The refocus of the Awards coverage area to solely the Central Okanagan comes as the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan revises its mandate and vision in 2016.

The 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards and Gala Evening will take place on Saturday, May 28 at the Habitat on Leon Ave, downtown Kelowna.


The Awards nominations are eligible to residents of the Central Okanagan: Peachland, West Kelowna, Westbank First Nation, Kelowna or Lake Country. Further details on the selection criteria for the Awards can be found on the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan's website

Nomination Deadline

Sunday, March 6, 2016 at 9 p.m. 

More Information and Nomination Form

Click here for more information and to submit a nomination form. 


©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy