Call For Nominations: Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award

The Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) has announced a call for nominations for the 2012 Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award. The deadline for nominations is Friday, March 23, 2012.

This $5,000 Award was initiated in celebration of PACT’s 30th anniversary in 2006-2007 and named in honour of Mallory Gilbert, who was Tarragon Theatre’s General Manager for 34 years and one of the founders and past president of PACT. The annual Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award celebrates and recognizes outstanding leadership within the Canadian Theatre community.

The Award includes a $1,000 portion presented to a protégé chosen by the Award winner, underlining the importance of skills and knowledge transmission in leadership building.

Mallory Gilbert, the Award’s namesake, is one of Canada’s most respected arts managers. In addition to her successful 34-year tenure at Toronto’s Tarragon Theatre, she has served on numerous local and national boards of directors and advisory boards. Ms. Gilbert served on PACT’s Board for 20 years (as PACT President 1989-1993), and she was the recipient of PACT Honourary Life Membership in 2005. By mentoring countless aspiring arts administrators during the course of her career, she has shaped the careers of many of Canada’s theatre leaders and encouraged the creation of exciting new theatre ventures.

The Panel: The 2012 Selection Panel for the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award is composed of Mallory Gilbert (Toronto, ON), Cherry Karpyshin (Winnipeg, MB), Naomi Campbell (Toronto, ON), Philip Akin (Toronto, ON) and Heather Redfern (Vancouver, BC).

The Selection Panel will review all nominations and select one winner, judging nominations against the eligibility requirements. At its discretion, the Selection Panel may choose to grant no award or multiple awards in one year. All Selection Panel deliberations are strictly confidential. The award recipient will be named at the 2012 PACT Conference in Grand Bend, ON. 

Background: Tarragon Theatre and PACT (through its PCC division) initiated the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award. The award was borne out of an exceptional collaboration based on their deep appreciation for Mallory’s contribution to both organizations and their shared commitment to leadership in the theatre community. Tarragon Theatre sponsored the award for the first five years of its existence and continues to help promote it; PACT administers the award and its selection process, and hosts the presentation ceremony at the PACT Conference each year. 

About PACT: The Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) is a member-driven organization that serves as the collective voice of professional Canadian theatres. For the betterment of Canadian theatre, PACT provides leadership, national representation and a variety of programs and practical assistance to member companies, enabling members to do their own creative work. PACT celebrated 30 years of service in 2006-2007.

Nomination Form: The nomination form and more information about the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award can be found on the PACT website or by emailing Meg Shannon at


©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy