Nominations Open for City of Vancouver Book Awards

The City of Vancouver is inviting publishers and authors to submit entries for the annual City of Vancouver Book Award.

Books of any genre that demonstrate excellence and contribute to an appreciation and understanding of Vancouver's residents, history, or unique character are eligible to apply for the $2,000 award. The winning book must also exhibit excellence in content, illustration, design and/or format.

Recent past winners include: Lee Henderson for The Man Game; Brad Cran and Gillian Jerome for Hope in Shadows; Michael Kluckner for Vancouver Remembered; and co-winners Jean Barman for Stanley Park's Secret and James Delgado for Waterfront.

An independent panel of judges will choose the winner.

The shortlist of finalists will be announced in early September, and the award will be presented in October by Mayor Gregor Robertson.

To be eligible, books must be published in 2009 or 2010 and meet the application criteria.

All entries must include: four copies of the book, a $15 submission fee, and a completed entry form.

Entry forms and guidelines are available from the Cultural Services Department at 555 West 12th Avenue, East Tower, Suite 310, Vancouver.

More information and forms are also available on the City's website.

Submissions should be sent to:

Cultural Services Department
City Hall
453 West 12th Avenue
Vancouver, BC, V5Y 1V4

Couriers should be directed to 555 West 12th Avenue, East Tower, Suite 310, Vancouver.

Deadline for entries is Wednesday, May 26, 2010.

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy