2016 Writers' Trust Awards Winners Announced



The 2016 Writers' Trust Awards were announced on Nov. 2 in Toronto. The prizes are presented by the Writers' Trust of Canada and comprise a combined $219,000.

The list of winners and works honoured include:

  • Vancouver's Deborah Campbell, who won the $60,000 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for her non-fiction book, A Disappearance in Damascus;
  • Kitimat-born Eden Robinson, whose body of work won the $25,000 Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award;
  • Gregory Scofield, whose body of work earned him the $25,000 Latner's Writers' Trust Poetry Prize;
  • Victoria writer Yasuko Thanh, who won the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize of $25,000 for her debut novel, Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains;
  • Brian Brett, author of a dozen books across genres who was recognized with the $20,000 Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life;
  • Alan Cumyn, who won the $20,000 Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People;
  • Colette Langlois, who won the $10,000 Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize for her first ever published short story, The Emigrants.

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy