2016 Heritage BC Award Recipients Announced


The 2016 Heritage BC Awards, honouring the outstanding and significant achievements of British Columbia’s heritage conservation heroes, were presented at the organization's 35th Anniversary Awards Gala at the Imperial in Vancouver on February 18.

The awards recipients are as follows: 

Heritage Education and Awareness


Heritage Burnaby Website Upgrades Project
Burnaby Community Heritage Commission

Mack Laing Baybrook House
Ekaterina Panayotof, Angela Burns, Gordon Olsen, Denise Lawson, and Dr. Loys Maingon of the Mack Laing Heritage Society

VanMap 1912 Historical Layer
Heather Gordon and Sue Bigelow, City of Vancouver Archives
Jessie Adcock, Miki Shoji, and Linda Low, City of Vancouver

Award of Honour

GIS Interactive Maps
Victoria Heritage Foundation

The Heritage Site Finder
Jessica Quan, Judith Mosley, Annie Liang, and Diane Switzer, Vancouver Heritage Foundation
David Miller, Split Mango Media Inc. 

The Cole Island Project
Gordon Macdonald and Ben Gourley, Macdonald & Lawrence Timber Framing
Richard Linzey, B.C. Heritage Branch; Tusa Shea and Tania Muir, The University of Victoria Cultural Resource Management Program
Shelley Bruce, Parks Canada
Shawn Thibault, Ravenstone Masonry and Conservation Inc.
Linda Carswell and Barron Carswell, Friends of Cole Island

Shaping Vancouver 2015: Conversations on the Heritage Action Plan
Javier Campos, Heritage Vancouver Society
Am Johal, Simon Fraser University’s Vancity Office of Community Engagement  


BC Heritage Fairs
Michael Gurney, Evan Fryer, Britney Quail, Tom Morton, and Jane Watt, BC Heritage Fairs Society

Heritage Planning and Management


Ioco Townsite Preservation and Preventative Maintenance Plan
Adam Hatch and Christian Doeinghaus, Donald Luxton & Associates
Mary De Paoli, City of Port Moody


Arthur Erickson House and Garden Conservation Plan
Neill Cumberbirch and Donald Luxton 

Heritage Conservation


Taylor Manor
Mitch Sakumoto and Mark Zaitsoff, Merrick Architecture Borowski Sakumoto Fligg McIntyre Inc.
Donald Luxton and Christine Doeinghaus, Donald Luxton & Associates
Alicia Gorska, City of Vancouver

Okanagan Fur Brigade Linear Trail Park
Mayor Peter Waterman, District of Summerland
David Gregory; Okanagan Historical Society
Ian Graham, Okanagan Similkameen Parks Society
Henry Sielman, Trail of the Okanagans

Renewal of Ladner United Church
Jim Short, Minister, Ladner United Church

Former Ladner Baptist Church Restoration
Steve Knoblauch, 5008 Ventures Inc. 

Kitsilano Neighbourhood House
Catherine Leach, Kitsilano Neighbourhood House
Sean McEwen, S.R. McEwen Architect
Donald Luxton, Donald Luxton & Associates Inc.
Adele Wilson, Terra Housing Consultants
Dick Reid, Kindred Construction Inc.

Award of Honour

Conservation of the Japanese Canadian War Memorial, Stanley Park National Historic Site
Linda Kawamoto Reid, Japanese Canadian War Memorial Committee
Shaun Van den Kerkhof, Van den Kerkhof & Son Masonry
Donald Luxton, Donald Luxton & Associates Inc. 

Dunster Station Museum
The Dunster Community Association

Outstanding Achievement

Wentworth Villa
Stefan and Magda Opalski
Theo Riecken, Coastal Niche Construction Ltd.
John Keay, Keay Cecco Architecture Ltd.
Simone Vogel-Horridge, Fine Art Conservation

Ross Bay Villa
Simone Vogel-Horrige, Ross Bay Villa Society  

Single Room Occupancy Renewal Initiative – Hotel Canada, Hotel Maple and Gastown Hotel
Jason Chow, BC Housing; Alex Chang, exp Services Inc.
Daniel St. Gelais, DSG Group
Barry McGinn, McGinn
Engineering & Preservation Ltd.
Christopher Jackson, Ameresco  

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy