Association of Book Publishers of BC Names Two Award Winners

The following information is excerpted from a release issued by the Association of Book Publishers of British Columbia.



The Association of Book Publishers of BC (ABPBC) has announced the 2017 recipients of two awards recognizing outstanding contributions to the province’s publishing industry.

This year’s Gray Campbell Distinguished Service Award recipient is Betty Keller, in recognition of her work as a writer, editor, mentor, and teacher, and the founder of the Sunshine Coast’s Festival of the Written Arts and the Writers in Residence Program. This award is presented annually by the Association of Book Publishers of BC to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the book publishing industry in the province.

This year’s Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year Award recipient is Vancouver's Greystone Books. The press and its publisher, Rob Sanders, are recognized for having built an internationally successful publishing program. Greystone Books was launched in 1993 as an imprint and publishing division of what was then Douglas & McIntyre Ltd and relaunched as a new company, Greystone Books Ltd., in 2013. This award is presented to an active BC book publishing company that has in recent times earned the respect and applause of the community of publishers for a specific publishing project, an extraordinary contribution to the BC publishing community, and/or its extended commitment to excellence in publishing.

Both awards will be presented by the ABPBC at a dinner in Vancouver on September 21, 2017. 

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy