Congratulations to the Recipients of the 2012 Mayor's Arts Awards

The Mayor’s Arts Awards recognize established and emerging artists in a wide array of disciplines that make up our creative community—from literary to culinary arts, and visual to performing arts—as well as five unique awards for contributions to our community for volunteerism, business support, philanthropy, lifetime achievement, and arts board member of the year.

Honourees in the studio and performing arts categories were chosen by juries of their peers, consisting of previous Mayor’s Arts Award recipients. The awards recognize their significant contribution to their respective disciplines and leadership, innovation and support for Vancouver’s cultural community over the course of their careers.
Each honouree was invited to select an emerging artist in their discipline who demonstrates the promise of the next generation. Both artists receive a $2,500 cash prize.

The juries were convened by the Alliance for Arts and Culture, and the arts board member of the year award is an initiative of the Society to Bridge Arts and Community.

For more information visit:

Honourees and Emerging Artists | Studio Arts Awards

Community Engaged Art
David Diamond / Amanda Nahanee

Craft and Design
Yvonne Wakabayashi / Soledad Munoz

Culinary Arts
Robert Clark / Merri Schwartz

Film and New Media
Loretta Sarah Todd / Christopher Auchter

Literary Arts
W.H. New / Onjana Yawnghwe

Public Art
Jerry Pethick (Posthumous) / Samuel Roy-Bois

Visual Arts
Jim Breukelman / Hua Jin

Honourees and Emerging Artists | Performing Arts Awards

Rosario Ancer / Kiruthika Rathanaswami

John Korsrud / Eli Bennett

Donna Spencer / Anita Rochon

Support of the Arts Awards

Michael Audain

Business Support
Sharman King

Erik Graff

Arts Board Member of the Year
Catherine Van Alstine

Mayor's Arts Award for Lifetime Achievement
Tom Cone

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy