2017 Heritage BC Award Winners Announced

Heritage BC has announced the winners of its 2017 Heritage BC Awards. The honourees will be celebrated at a gala to take place 7:30 p.m. on February 15 at Heritage Hall (3102 Main St., Vancouver). Tickets are $50.00 CDN and can be purchased here.

Each category includes three levels of achievement: Recognition (for noteworthy achievements), Honour (for high achievements), and Outstanding Achievement (for excellence). The winners of Outstanding Achievement Heritage BC Awards include:

  • Distinguished Service: Shirley Blackstaff
  • Heritage Conservation: Cordova Residence, Hazelwood Hotel and Molson's Bank (Mike Pistrin, Daniel St. Gelais, Barry McGinn, Christopher Jackson and Mitch Sakumoto)
  • Heritage Conservation: The Union Club of British Columbia Conservation and Restoration Project (Barrie Hewstan, Gary Mitchell, Shiv Garyali, Martin Segger and Douglas Franklin)
  • Heritage Education and Awareness: Heritage Vancouver's Shaping Vancouver 2016 Series (Javier Campos and Am Johal)
  • Heritage Education and Awareness: Central Okanagan Heritage Society Education Project (Janice Henry)
  • Heritage Planning & Management: North Pacific Cannery Master Conservation Plan (Port Edward Historical Society and Donald Luxton & Associates)
  • Heritage Planning & Management: Woodlands - Interpretation of Heritage and Cultural Values (Julie Schueck and John Stark)

More information on the awards, including criteria, can be found here. A full list of winners, including Recognition and Honour recipients, can be found here.

©2019 BC Alliance for Arts + Culture. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy